“Sugar Snow” Graces Vermont

As is well documented in this blog, I’m anxious for the snow to melt. I’m itching to get the landscaping season going and the snow is very much in the way.

This morning's sugar snow added to the deep accumulation on my lawn in St. Albans, Vermont.

So imagine my disappointment when I woke up to two inches of fresh snow that replaced some of what melted yesterday.

Forecasts had called for absolutely no snow last night around my place in St. Albans, Vermont, so I got the booby prize there.

But I made the best of the new snow. It was “sugar snow.” What that is a couple inches of wet snow that often falls at night in Vermont during March. It’s maple sugaring season now, so such a snowfall adds a little moisture for the trees to keep producing sap.

Snow clings to branches and frames an old courthouse in downtown St. Albans, Vermont this morning.

Granted, we don’t particularly need the moisture this year, but sugar snow is a tradition of sorts, so I have to accept it.

The great thing about sugar snow is it’s very pretty. It usually falls when there’s very little wind, and the wet snow clings to every last twig and cornice.

That’s what happened today.  So of course I took pictures, which you see on this blog post. (You might have to scroll down after this text to see all of them)

Snow on tree branches brightens the facades of buildings in downtown St. Albans, Vermont this morning.

Another good thing about sugar snow is it melts fast. It stopped snowing around 8 a.m. It’s now 10:30 a.m. and the sugar snow is melting fast under the glare of fleeting glimpses of the sun sneaking through the clouds.

The slow March melt now resumes. Until tonight, when chances are we’ll get yet another sugar snow.

Snow on a tree in my St. Albans, Vermont yard this morning.

Snow on the trees around a brook near my house in St. Albans, Vermont yesterday. Ice broke on the brook in yesterday's thaw, exposing the flowing water

Wet snow creates a tangled pattern on a tree in my yard in St. Albans, Vermont this morning.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

