The Lady Gaga Battles

Here’s the cliche sentence of the week: The hugely anticipated new Lady Gaga single “Born This Way” came out this morning.

Lady Gaga's "Born This Way" is attracting some argumentive people.

And all I’ve got to say about the situation is people have really GOT to calm down.

The blogosphere is raging with torrid arguments today on whether it’s a good song or not. I’m not even going to link you to some of these sites; it’s not worth it.

I can see people having lively discussions about the news from Egypt today, with Mubarak stepping down. But really, is a new Lady Gaga song worth arguments that practically turn into death threats?

Don’t get me wrong. I’m a big Lady Gaga fan. And I really like the new song. Listen for yourself below and judge for yourself, if you haven’t already done so in the link at the beginning of this post.

If you don’t like the song, that’s fine. Lady Gaga isn’t for everybody. Pop music isn’t everybody’s taste. I don’t like some hip hop music, So sue me.

Yet just because Lady Gaga is such a big star,  it seems people lost track of the importance of “Born This Way.” True, it is politically charged in some circles, as it’s very supportive of the LGBT community. But a Lady Gaga song probably isn’t as important as war, economic ruin, crime, disease and disaster.

Face it. It’s a pop song. It’s not something that Lady Gaga ever aimed to win the Nobel Prize for. It won’t change the world. It’s just a fun, frivolous pop song, and we all need a little frivolity now and then. I sure will be dancing to “Born This Way.”

I know the trajectory the song will take for me. I like it. It will grow on me, and I’ll love it. Then it will be overplayed and I’ll be begging the radio stations to stop. But really. This won’t save my life, or ruin it. It’s just part of the background soundtrack of my life at the moment.

People do take things too seriously. Having bitter arguments over a song that is surely destined to be the Number 1 download this week seems a bit much. If you hate the song, don’t listen to it. If you love the song, download it. Then shut up. It’s that simple.

Lady Gaga is surely laughing all the way to the bank. And good for her. I know she wants people to buy the song because they like it. But if the fights “Born This Way” generates also stimulates sales, I’m sure she won’t complain.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

