BOOM! Thunder and Heart Attack Snow In Vermont

Last night was a stellar one for a Vermont weather fan. It was snowing at times at a rate of almost two inches an hour. Lightning lit up the skies and thunder boomed through the dense curtain of falling snow.

Done! For now, anyway. I stand in front of the snowbank I created clearing my driveway as Darlusz sits nervous near the top of the huge pile of snow.

Thundersnows are very rare, especially in the Northeast, so it was a treat to get those lightning flashes and those peals of thunder, strangly muffled and at the same time strangely drawn out by the cushion of the falling snow.

Darlusz, the Polish frog who lives here, cowered under the bed during the thundersnow. “Everybody know, dere not no thunder in snow. Somting wrong. Da World es ending! No! I no wanna die!”

“Darlusz, relax. Thunder can happen in thunderstorms. It’s just rare. It’s harmless. Just enjoy it,” I said, trying to soothe the frog.

Jeff is almost lost behind walls of snow as he helps me clean up from the latest big snowstorm in St. Albans, Vermont, which included thunder and lightning

He would have none of it. and he stayed under the bed. He even grabbed some pillows and pulled them under the bed, using them as a shield.

Seems everybody else enjoyed the novelty of the thundersnow. Twitter, Facebook and emails lit up with everybody marveling over the phenomenon.

It was an event, to be sure. Some people said they’ve never seen thunder snow before. I’ve seen it two or three times before, but I’ve never seen so much lightning or heard so much thunder in one snowstorm.

Darlusz didn’t reappear until noon today after Jeff and I had almost finished shoveling the driveway, which let me tell you was quite a chore. We had 10 or 11 inches of heavy, wet, heart attack snow.

The snowy scene in my driveway in St. Albans, Vermont as I start to dig out from the effects of Saturday night's thundersnow

I was out there three hours and my shoulders are still shaking from trying to heft what amounted to wet cement into piles higher than my six foot tall build.

When Darlusz dared to come out, he was still nervous. He worried he would fall through the immense snowbanks if he got on them, never to be seen again.

“It new Ice Age. I never see da snow like dis. So deep. We never get spring. It stay Arctic forever. No spring. no bug to munch when it warm up because it never will warm up,” Darlusz said, weeping.

Darlusz is a bit melodramatic. “Spring will get here some day Darlusz. It might just be later than we want. It’s 33 degrees, so it’s melting a tiny bit. I just saw some robins in the back yard, believe it or not,” I said. Frankly, I couldn’t believe I saw robins given the three feet of snow on the ground.

I continued trying to console Darlusz. “Think about it. All this snow will make moisture, which bugs like in the spring. With all those black flies and mosquitoes come spring, you’re going to eat so much you won’t fit through the door,” I said.

He perked up a little, but just a little.  But now I was depressed, thinking about all those spring insects.

I didn’t dare tell Darlusz that more snow is in the forecast tomorrow. Shhh. Don’t tell Darlusz! He’ll go off the deep end. So will I, frankly.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “BOOM! Thunder and Heart Attack Snow In Vermont”

  1. montpelier28 Says:

    I saw turkeys in trees along I 89 Sun, went home Rte 2 Sat night, probably a mistake, took twice the time, looked like most people on 89 were driving reasonably with space between the cars even.

Leave a Reply

