Why I’m Not A Firefighter

Last night around 10:30 p.m., when the temperature was falling into the single numbers, firefighters in my town, St. Albans, Vermont, were called to a fire in a large house near Lake Champlain.

An equipment rental place in St. Albans, Vermont burns today, a frigid winter day.

They were there until 10 this morning.

At 1:30 this afternoon, an equipment rental place in town went up in flames. Firefighters are still there. It’s 14 degrees. It’s snowing. The wind is blowing out of the northwest at 20 mph.

Could our town’s firefighters have possibly had a worse day?

I was at the scene of the rental equipment business fire for a half hour and froze my $#&* off. Imagine playing with water in this cold all day.

It’s one job I would never want.  I’m too wimpy. But thanks, St. Albans Town firefighters. I hope you don’t have any big fires again for a long, long time.

And yes, my smoke alarm is working.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

