Sunday Sermon: $75 Fire Un-Christian!

Since it’s Sunday, I’ll offer you my Sunday Sermon.

You probably heard about that fire in Tennessee, where the homeowner didn’t pay his $75 fee, so the fire department just stood around and let the house burn down.

This isn't the fire that Tennessee firefighters didn't put out for want of a $75 fee, but it certainly seems to capture their attitiude.

Lots of people have blogged either that the guy was obligated to pay his fee so he deserved to have his house burn down, which is really mean. A lot more were in my line of view, saying they should have saved the house, then demanded the money later.

I’m in that camp.

Anyway, a “Christian” had the following to say about the situation. He’s Bryan Fischer, a radio host wtih American Family Association:

“The fire department did the right and Christian thing. The right thing, by the way, is also the Christian thing, because there can be no difference between the two. The right thing to do will always be the Christian thing to do, and the Christian thing to do will always be the right thing to do. If I somehow think the right thing to do is not the Christian thing to do, then I am either confused about what is right or confused about Christianity, or both.
“In this case, critics of the fire department are confused both about right and wrong and about Christianity. And it is because they have fallen prey to a weakened, feminized version of Christianity that is only about softer virtues such as compassion and not in any part about the muscular Christian virtues of individual responsibility and accountability.”

"Christian" Bryan Fischer of the American Family Association.

 

Galling. And this guy is confused. I’m no Bible expert, but I do remember this passage:

“For I was hungry and you gave me food. I was thirsty and gave me drink. I was a stranger and you took me in, I was naked and you clothed me. I was sick and you visited me. I was in prison and you came to visit me.”

–Matthew 25:35

Again, I’m not a Christian and I’m no expert, but the Bible passage is a central point of that faith, I belief: A good Christian would help his neighbor, not demand payment.

So, Bryan Fischer IS confused about his religion. And no $75 payment will put out the flames of hell when he gets there.

 

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Sunday Sermon: $75 Fire Un-Christian!”

  1. gary rith Says:

    What a bunch of f##kheads.

  2. jeff modereger Says:

    right or wrong, christian or not, they should have put out the fire. Sounds like extortion to me

Leave a Reply

