Landscaping: Broken Mower, No Problem.

“Dat no good,” said Darlusz Zabagaiski, the Polish frog that lives here and has a comment about almost everything.

Darlusz inspects my jury-rigged repair job on a broken mower handle, in which I used a bungee cord to hold things together,

He’d hopped up on my lawn mower and inspected the handle, held in place by a bungee cord.

I had mowed for an hour Sunday, with another three hours to go, when the mower handle, worn out from four years of pushing it up hills, down hills and over bumps, finally gave out and snapped like an old lady’s hip as she trips and falls down the stairs.

“But you had ta do da mowing da rest of da day. What you do,? Darlusz asked.

“Well, as you can see, I did a Hail Mary and wrapped a rubber bungee cord around the handle.” Believe it or not, it held, barely, through three hours of mowing. I got the job done,” I said.

A bungee cord miraculously manages to hold together my snapped lawnmower handle

“It must been hard, Dere’s give in dat handle with da break and da rubber cord.  It bend lots,” Darlusz said.

“True, I replied. But a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do. If a client tells me to mow the lawn, what am I supposed to do, say no?

“Well you lucky dat held like dat all day. If I were dere I say no how, won’t work. But den, you know me, da magic frog. I tot maybe you have bad day Sunday, so dat morning I did da goud luck dance for you.  I guess it work,” Darlusz said.

“I guess it did, thanks Darlusz.”

The mower is in the shop now and should be ready for another round of work, with no bungee cords involved, this coming weekend.

2 Responses to “Landscaping: Broken Mower, No Problem.”

  1. gary rith Says:

    DZ, Matt is terribly clever, no?

  2. Landcaping: More Novel Mower Repairs, Uses « Matt-of-all-trades Blog Says:

    […] Novel Mower Repairs, Uses By mattalltrades The other day, I whined in this blog about the broken handle on my lawnmower and how I ingeniously fixed the problem using a rubber bungee cord. Yes, I’m proud of […]

Leave a Reply

