Vermont Blueberries!

My sister Lynn came up from southern Vermont yesterday, and she, Jeff and me trouped down to the Charlotte Berry Farm to pick blueberries.

Jeff and I picking blueberries at Charlotte Berry Farm Thursday.

Blueberry picking is a summer requirement for me. If I don’t do it, I’m bereft. So yesterday was great therapy.

It was a classic summer day, blue skies, warm temperatures and some nice puffy clouds arranged perfectly in the sky, as if Martha Stewart was in charge of the weather.

The blueberries were so numerous that the bushes sagged under the weight of the fruit. So of course, good citizens that we are, the three of us set to work picking, to ensure none of the branches snapped under the weight of the blueberries.

I wonder if places like the Charlotte Berry Farm factor into their expenses the number of blueberries that accidentally find their way into people’s mouths before they go to the cash register to pay for their pickings.

I had that problem. I’d get close to a blueberry bush, it would shake and somehow, blueberries would fall and end up in my mouth. I had no choice but to eat them on the spot.

Jeff and me preparing to eat our blueberry harvest at the Charlotte Berry Farm Thursday afternoon.

On top of her picking duties, Lynn also took a couple pictures of us. She doesn’t like to have her picture taken, so she was the official photographer.

Blueberries are so versatile. You can put them on almost anything to make food tastier. Last night, Jeff and I went the traditional route, by dumping a bunch of blueberries onto vanilla ice cream and chowing down. Yum!

Lynn took them home and expects to freeze many of her blueberries for later. They freeze well and you can make all kinds of muffins, jams, jellies, you name it.

You can’t go wrong with blueberries. They are among the best things to eat for your health, as they might help prevent cancer and vision problems, they can improve memory and digestive function. So eat, eat, eat those blueberries.

I sure will.

And when we run out of blueberries, probably very soon, we’ll just have to go back and pick more.

One Response to “Vermont Blueberries!”

  1. kim Says:

    I can’t wait to go blueberry picking. I get pissed off with the Amish girls who can out pick me by several pints everytime.

Leave a Reply

