Are Guys Like Me Obsolete?

I made the mistake of reading an article in The Atlantic  called “The End of Men”

Boiled down, it says that women are advancing past men in socio-ecomomic strength, as they are more likely to go to college, are more adept at gettring jobs and seem to be better at managing the demands of life in the 21st century.

I’m fine with that. Anyone who is smart and ambitious should get ahead. It’s up to everybody, including us men, to shape our own destiny. The article says that the old patriarchy is dying, that the tradition of women as second  class citizens is fading.

To which I say, Finally!

The thing that troubled me in the article by Hanna Rosin was this passage: “The post-industrial economy is indifferent to men’s size and strength. The attributes that are most valuable today, social intelligence, open communication, the ability to sit still and focus (my emphasis) are, at a minimum, not predominantly male. In fact, the opposite may be true.”

My main job, as a newspaper reporter, demands the attributes she describes. However, a newspaper reporter should not sit still and focus all the time. That suits me terrifically, since I’m incapable of sitting still. It’s rare nowadays to find a job where you don’t necessarily have to sit calmly in front of a computer screen all day.

I also need a physical out,  which is why I have a landscaping business. and why I like doing things that require brute strength (see the previous post I did on me being a he-man)

Are strong, physical men like these guys going the way of the dinosaur?

I’m on medication and have received counseling to control ADHD, and that has been  very effective. However, I have to wonder if ADHD in many men, including me, is just the sign of a normal, average man. But maybe a normal average man increasingly has no place in this world.

I have to ask:  Given the change in society and the world of work , is being an active, physical, energetic, strong man no longer normal, but a disease that must be treated?

ADHD in people like me is technically a mild mental illnesss, but have I really been diagnosed as being what was a normal guy 100 years ago?

I sought help for ADHD in part because I wanted to improve my performance at work.  And it has helped. But I’m still uneasy that I feel  I must medicate myself, however gently, to fit into the 21st century.

2 Responses to “Are Guys Like Me Obsolete?”

  1. denis Says:

    you’re perfect just the way you are! don’t change!

  2. gary rith Says:

    the guys in the photo look like they have big arms and small d!cks….better to have the….well, anyway, like Denis says 🙂

Leave a Reply

