Photo Captures Vt. Gorge Grim Reaper?

Today’s Burlington Free Press had a front page article I wrote about Huntington Gorge in Richmond, where there have been many deaths and tragedies over the years.

Is that the Grim Reaper on the wall behind the woman swimming in Vermont's Huntington Gorge? Photo by Ian Thomas Jansen-Lonnquist, Burlington Free Press.

A photo by Ian Thomas Jansen-Lonnquist that accompanies the article shows a happy young woman enjoying the gorge’s cool water.

But if you look to the right and above the woman, you see an interesting shadow on the rock wall.

I didn’t notice this until a reader called me this morning, but the shadow looks like the gorge’s grim reaper. It looks sort of like Sasquatch, dark, mostly black, with clenched fists and a hood over its head. 

The woman who called me said she thought it looked like the gorge has its own horrible monster that kills people.

The photo works so well if you think about it this way because the woman looks oblivious to the danger behind her. It would make a great still from a horror movie.

I’ll assure you I’m not one of those people who see the image of God or the Virgin Mary on  a pop tart or something, but I do think the photo is much more interesting than I originally thought.

My article speculated about the deaths in Huntington Gorge. One idea I left out: Maybe the place is haunted, and the image shows it.

3 Responses to “Photo Captures Vt. Gorge Grim Reaper?”

  1. jansenlonnquist Says:

    I took the pic…I cant see this reaper of the gorge…

  2. mattalltrades Says:

    Maybe my imagination is too strong. In my mind, the “grim reaper” in the picture is there. See the white rock near the water next to the very dark shadow? Now look just to the left of the white rock, at that black and bluish-gray area. Looks like a figure to me. The clenched fists are those small brown rocks half way up that dark figure.

  3. kim Says:

    Matt… It looks like a muskox with the bit of white as one of the horns. I agree with you that Huntington Gorge is haunted. As a kid I remember stories about kids getting killed while jumping off the rocks and getting stuck under the rocks below.

    Vermont has some pretty creepy old stories and legends that are fun to read about. Huntington defiantly fits in with a lot of those stories. It makes for some great topics over a campfire.

Leave a Reply

