Even Vermonters Wilt in Heat

“Here, take dis,” said Darlusz Zabagaiski, the Polish magical frog who has settled into my home.

He said this as I was rushing around this morning, getting ready for work. Darlusz was giving me a bottle of Gatorade.

“I’m not doing anything strenuous today,” I said. “I probably don’t need it.”

“Ah, but I still nervous about you from Sunday,” Darlusz said. “Take it. Drink.”

What happened Sunday was I managed to come down with a mild case of heat exhaustion. I was trying to make up for lost time with landscaping work, frantically mowing and brush hogging to get caught up for my clients.

It was a bit muggy, the temperature reached the low 80s,  I was working fast, and the sun was out half the time. I drank water and Gatorade but it wasn’t enough. As I finished, I felt weak, nauseated, a little confused, feverish and lightheaded. I wanted to pass out.  I had the symptoms of heat exhaustion

I did all the right things at that point. I got in the truck and blasted the air conditioner. I guzzled water and Gatorade. I rubbed ice cubes on my scalp. The Gatorade is key. I’m told that after sweating too much, people should drink liquids with electrolytes, to bring balance back to your system.

Within an hour, I felt a little better, but was plagued by heat cramps all night. It must have looked alarming to Darlusz and Jeff, who was at the house Sunday evening.

That was why Darlusz handed me the Gatorade this morning. “It no hurt if you nip at dat Gatorade all day. Even if you no feel hot,” he said.

I thanked him and left for work. What the hell, I drank it on the way to work. I’d learned my lesson.  It doesn’t take that much heat to get heat exhaustion. It turns out several medications can make a person more prone to heat exhaustion, and I am taking one of those medications.

Worse, heat exhaustion, which really isn’t that serious, can easily progress to heat stroke, which is a really big problem. So, from now on, I will take brief siestas at the hottest part of the day, and drink a lot more water and other liquids. And not alcohol, which can make the problem worse.

I’ll warn ya, everybody is subject to heat exhaustion. So let’s be careful out there.

2 Responses to “Even Vermonters Wilt in Heat”

  1. Jeff Says:

    a “mild” case of heat exhaustion??????????? Darlusz and I think differently. In hot weather, any case is serious with serious consequences…..Everyone should take care

  2. denis Says:

    whenever darlusz hands you a gatorade, take it!

Leave a Reply

