Vermont Earthquake Shakes and Rattles

Well, that gave me a minor thrill.

A magnitude 5.0 earthquake centered 33 miles north of Ottawa, Canada gave us a nice shake early this afternoon. I’d just been remarking to a friend that we haven’t had an earthquake in quite awhile and was looking forward to one.

A sign in Ottawa, Canada was left askew in this photo from the Ottawa Citizen newspaper Web site.

Ask and you shall receive.

Vermont earthquakes are fun because they never really cause a lot of damage, they just give you a gentle ride.  In the past, earthquakes have done things in Vermont like shift a beam in the Statehouse, open a small crack in a Burlington street. In 2002, an earthquake caused a whopping $50 in damage in Burlington.

That damage consisted of a ceramic vase that fell off a shelf in a downtown pottery store.

Today, I was sitting at work, minding my own business when my desk seemed to push against me.

How rude! I felt like pushing back. But then I sensed a gentle rocking and I said out loud, “Earthquake.” All my coworkers thought I was nuts until they, too, felt their chairs moving a bit.

It’s hotter than Hades in the newsroom, so I had a fan going. During the earthquake, the breeze from my fan seemed to shift slightly upward and downward.

In this day and age, reports come in so fast during things like this. Five minutes after the earthquake, I checked Facebook and found close to a dozen postings from people remarking about the trembler.

It will surely be awhile before I feel another quake, which is too bad. I like a little excitement. At least weather forecasters said there’s a chance of strong or severe thunderstorms in Vermont tomorrow, so I have that to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

