Frogs, Lawns and Vermont Skies

“Boy, da lon gettin’ very long,” Darlusz Rabagaiski said yesterday evening.

Darlusz, my frog mascot, hidden in my lawn, which really needed mowing Monday evening.

Darlusz is that strange fake frog that has taken up residence at my St. Albans, Vt. house. He was more than nose deep in the grass on my lawn, barely visible in what was fast becoming a hayfield.

“Yeah, I’ve been busy. Haven’t gotten to it,” I admitted.

“Ya, you busy boy. But why don you go to da mower, jus do some of da lon tonight, then I give you tdreet at da end,” Darlusz, said, pronouncing “treat” in his weird trilling Polish way.

I looked at him. He shrugged. “I wait here. ‘member, tdreet at da end.”

So off I went, mowing like a madman. About an hour and a half into it, I glanced up the hill and saw Darlusz doing a weird hopping dance, twirling and looking up at the sky. I shrugged and kept going.

Toward 8 p.m. the sky turned a strange orange as I mowed

Almost immediately after that, the sky started turning strange. A dark cloud appeared overhead. The western sky gave off an otherworldly orange glow. The wind picked up and the temperature dropped.

I looked up and saw Darlusz at the top of the hill by the house, waving his little frog legs frantically.

“Stop da mower! Stop da mower! Da tdreet. Tu teraz!

(Tu teraz is Polish for “Come here, now,” I later learned)

I ran up to the house, near Darlusz. “Grab da what you call, da camra, Chodz ze mna!”

Darlusz lapses into Polish when he’s excited. “Chodz ze mna” is “Come with me.”

We ended up in the scrub land in the empty lot next to my house, with a relatively unobstructed view to the east.  The wind was still blowing, and raindrops began to pelt. I was getting cold. “Look,” Darlusz said. “You like?”

A big rainbow appeared as the sunset approached in St. Albans Monday evening

Off to the east was a beautiful rainbow. I stood awestruck, then snapped some pictures. I’ll tell you, that rainbow put me in a great mood, like they always do.

“Ya see, I tdreet you. I make-a rainbow,” Darlusz said.

I looked at Darlusz funny again. A ceramic frog making a rainbow. Yeah. But the forecast called for no showers.

Later on, I went  on line, and found the only rain anywhere near Vermont at the time of the rainbow was a little speck of a shower over St. Albans. Every place else was clear. I’m not making that up.

A faint, second rainbow appeared above the main one.

Out in the rain and the sun and under the rainbow, Darlusz look satisfied. After awhile the rain stopped, the rainbow faded and the sun set. We went inside.

“Now you eat, and you go ta bed. You finish lon tomorrow,” Darlusz said.

5 Responses to “Frogs, Lawns and Vermont Skies”

  1. denis Says:

    Darlusz is fake???? Nooooooooo!!!!

    btw, beautiful rainbow!!!

  2. gary rith Says:

    oh, GREAT pics Matt 🙂

  3. mattalltrades Says:

    Thanks, Gary and Denis
    Darlusz body is synthetic, (fake) but not his spirit

  4. Jeff Says:

    Darlusz is magic in deep. My grandmother always said that a frog watching a house was natures way of watching over you. She was a wise woman, not to mention a little “odd” in her Norwegian way.

  5. Months Old Vermont Rainbow « Matt-of-all-trades Blog Says:

    […] Darlusz was referring to that time in early June when I had a frustrating night of lawn mowing, but Darlusz claimed to create a nice rainbow to cheer me up. […]

Leave a Reply

