Vermont Heat is On

I’m really glad I didn’t go to the University of Vermont commencement yesterday.

Yeah, it was a really nice day. And all those graduates certainly deserve applause for obtaining their degrees.

But the thought of sitting for hours in the sun in a black synthetic, unbreathable graduation gown gives me the vapors.

As a non-graduate, I wouldn’t have to wear that get-up, of course. But just the sight of people suffering in those things would give me heat stroke.

In this Burlington Free Press photo by Ian Thomas Jansen-Lonnquist, a graduate endures the sun blasted ceremony at UVM.

Spring was early in Vermont and so is summer. The woods looks like it does in June or July, not May. The grass is turning brown a bit in the most sun-blasted areas. As I landscape, I stir up dust everywhere.  Mowing near a pond yesterday, I was sorely tempted to “accidentally” fall into it.

Temperatures over the next couple of days are supposed to be in the upper 80s and low 90s.  Records might fall. July is two months early.

I’m probably jinxing the summer just by mentioning this. I remember clearly the last time I remarked upon a summery, dry May. It was May 30, 1998.

The very next day a seemingly endless parade of severe, drenching thunderstorms raked Vermont.  A tornado trashed part of Bennington that day. The rest of the summer of 1998 turned out  to be by far the wettest on record. Some of the worst flash flooding in Vermont history struck in June.

Already, there are signs I just wrecked the summer. Memorial Day weekend might turn out chilly and cloudy, according to long range forecasts. So, I hope I didn’t just ruin your summer.

Leave a Reply

