Media: Discovering Magnetic Zeroes

I’m always behind the times in the coolness sweepstakes, so I find out about everything after everyone else. But I finally discovered a band that came out with a really strange, wonderful song last year. It’s called “Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes

Every so often, I hear a band that is a bit bizarre, definitely original and a refreshing change from the usual blandness you hear on the radio. The names of these bracing  off-kilter  bands are usually beautifully strange, too, like our friends here, the Magnetic Zeroes.

I remember back in 1996 or so the Squirrel Nut Zippers came out with a song called “Hell”  a happy ditty that discusses the denizens of hell grinding up human bones that are made into cakes and are passed around.

A few years ago I discovered Southern Culture on the Skids, due to play at South Burlington’s Higher Ground next Tuesday. (I don’t think I’m able to go, unfortunately)

Southern Culture has these comic rednecky songs about 1969 El Caminos, buying a double wide and watching a pretty, trashy woman and describing her as a “hot fox in a halter top, walking down the street shaking what’s she’s got.”

And who can resist a song with the title, “Daddy Was a Preacher, But Mama Was a Go-Go Girl.”?

So now I’m digging “Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes. I guess I can best describe the group as hillbilly bohemians. But there’s a lot more to them than that.

 Here’s their video for “Home”  Quite entertaining:

One Response to “Media: Discovering Magnetic Zeroes”

  1. Music: Nice Magnetic Zeroes Redux « Matt-of-all-trades Blog Says:

    […] Nice Magnetic Zeroes Redux By mattalltrades Back in May, I highlighted Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes and their beguiling song “Home” Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic […]

Leave a Reply

