Cyndi And Me

Often, blogs are places where people reveal their deep, dark, sordid secrets. I’m not sure why, because blogs are so public, so permanent.

But, in the spirit of blogging, I’m going to reveal something icky and horrible about myself.

I really like the old song “Girls Just Want to Have Fun,” by Cyndi Lauper.

I know, I know, a 200 pound, rough-around-the-edges, Carhartt-wearing guy driving a battered pick-up truck has no business bopping along to that oh-so-sunny tune.

It’s  so girlie, after all. But, the song came off the CD, “She’s So Unsual.” And I’m so unusual, so it matches, I guess.

Now that my terrible secret is out,  I suppose I’ll have to go into rehab, like all people do nowadays after some weird habit is revealed. Just ask Tiger Woods.

Anyway, the familiar Cindi Lauper hiccuppy singing came on the radio this morning as I was driving to work. I usually like dark, sarcastic songs. But the bright, sunny morning lifted my mood, as did the rapidly greening Vermont landscape as I drove along, somewhere between Georgia and Milton.

So, with nobody to hear my screeching, Cyndi and I did a nice loud duet, me at the driver’s wheel, she somewhere in radio land.

“Some boys take a beautiful girl,
And HI-I-IDE  her away from the rest of the world.
I wanna be the one to walk in the sun!
Oh,girls,
They wanna have FU-UN.
Oh, girls, just wanna have, That’s all they really want!
SOME FUN!!!!!……”

Ahem.

I’m sure the lady passing me in her Honda Civic must have wondered. I didn’t care. It felt great.

The video to that song is still a classic in my mind. Again, it’s against my usual taste, but the bright colors, the clutter, the people, the insanity are still endearing, even though I’ve seen the damn thing so many times. It was one of the few great things to come out of the 1980s. I’ll foist it on you. You have to watch it.

Thanks, Cyndi.

One Response to “Cyndi And Me”

  1. Denis Says:

    it takes a real man to admit he likes cyndi lauper. i think she is genuinely a very cool person.

Leave a Reply

