Under the Weather

The turn toward cold, wet weather this weekend took a little getting used to, given what had been a sunny, warm spring in Vermont.

But the damp, rainy weather has it’s own beauty. The fog, drizzle, gray clouds and fitful shafts of sunlight through the gloom played nicely on the dark, wet landscape, as you can see in these pics from my back deck.

You know this rain will make trees and plants grow like gangbusters when the weather warms up a little, as it’s forecast to do this week.

The wet weather gave me a little bit of a vacation from my landscaping jobs. Its hectic this time of year as I clean up the winter wreckage from everybody’s garden and put down some nice, fresh mulch.

Luckily, I’m not too far behind schedule, so it didn’t hurt to work less than usual this weekend. This time of year, I kill myself trying to get things done, especially on weekends. By Sunday evening, I’m usually so tired I can’t think straight.

You’d think I’d get used to physical labor, and I have to an extent. However,  I often find myself wanting to work on people’s landscaping until sunset, but my body rebels. My system is like a petulant teenager who whines that he doesn’t want to do anything and why do I have to work?

Once you get to a certain tired point, I become inefficient, and start making mistakes. I’m better off, and so are my clients, if I give up, get some rest, and attack the project the next day. It’s all in the pacing, I guess.  So the sun is still up on those occasions, but I call it quits for the day.

And that bed feels so good when I crash for the evening, even if’ it’s a ridiculously early hour.

3 Responses to “Under the Weather”

  1. Denis Says:

    i’m glad you stopped working early because i think you work too much. has anyone ever said on his death bed, “i wish i had worked harder”

  2. mattalltrades Says:

    You’re absolutely right about the death bed comment, Denis. But I do reserve time for fun, too. If I didn’t I would go crazy. OK, crazier than I am now.

  3. Jeff Says:

    You do work too hard, but you’re wired that way. The thing I like about physical labor is that sense of exhaustion. Working hard and seeing things change before your eyes is better than sitting and watching time pass. I get it. But then, I guess I’m wired that way too.

Leave a Reply

