Monday Morning Madness

I’m usually so busy on weekends that by Sunday night, I don’t feel like getting ready for the work week by the time evening rolls around.

Which means I often race around early Monday morning, getting squared away. That’s OK. It makes me feel like I’m getting the week off to a productive start. Either that, or I’m just crazy.

This morning  I cooked some meals that will get me through lunch for a couple days. I got the laundry done, and I tidied up the house a bit. That’s me, the Happy Homemaker.

I had all this done by 6 a.m., which tells you what an early to bed early to rise kind of guy I am. At least I don’t crow like a rooster at dawn. The neighbors are thankful.

The smells of the cooking also give me something to look forward to. I’ll wait until noon or so today before I try the stir fry I pulled together. Usually, my stir fries taste slightly better after it has sat in its juices and spices for a few hours, and is then reheated.

I’m a garbage cook, which means I like to mix random things together to see what I end up with. Usually it works. Of course, I try to make the combination make sense. I don’t mix, say, strawberry ice cream, hamburger, Jack Daniels and Doritos in a pot and call it lunch.

Today’s main production smells promising. You can almost smell the spicy scents coming from the picture of it that I’ve posted. It’s a mix of (formerly) frozen stir fry mixed vegetables, pork, soy sauce, garlic (lots of it),  ginger, black pepper and basil. Everything but the kitchen sink.

I’ll just stay busy this morning, and savor the stir fry later. Unless there’s yet another crisis at work. ……

2 Responses to “Monday Morning Madness”

  1. gary rith Says:

    I wouldn’t mind if you did something about the weather for us, sooner rather than later, a little warmth and sun please?
    All that by 6am, you’re like me! I fell asleep at 7;30 last night!
    AND I dunno, Matt, are sure a bit of whiskey wouldn’t improve your cooking???? Sumptious veggies in the pic there.

  2. kim Says:

    That looks good. I found an old book by Madhur Jaffrey at the library book sale about Asian cooking and alot of stir fried stuff. Its fun to cook but I hate the clean-up.

Leave a Reply

