Beaker and Me

The Muppet Beaker and I have been best buds ever since I can remember. We have a lot in common. We mean well, but a lot of our efforts end in disaster. Comical disaster, but disaster.

The picture, by the way, shows Beaker in his place of honor in my house. He’s with Ted, the Teddy bear I had when I was a kid, and the Tazmanian Devil, another good buddy of mine who goes way back.

Now you’re thinking, this guy never grew up. In a sense, you’re right. I’m proud of that fact too.

Kids are naturally curious, and their minds go off in weird and creative tangents. They also often have imaginary friends, and that helps them sort through their thoughts. It’s worth hanging on to that way of thinking, even if you are a responsible adult, because it makes you better at solving problems, or at least lets you have more fun while not solving them.

Nervous Beaker reflects my nervous energy and helps me tame it.  He reassures me that any mishaps I cause will not be the end of the world. And no, he’s not just some lame excuse to allow me to play with dolls.

I’m not alone in having a mascot like Beaker.  Just this morning, I “friended” Georges Le Soq on Facebook.

Georges is a sock puppet and character created by Gary Rith, a potter, sculptor and artist out in Ithaca, N.Y. Georges is an unpredictable, bon vivant houseguest of Rith’s. Rith clearly created Georges Le Soq mostly out of a sense of fun. But I suspect Rith uses Le Soq to sort through his ideas. I bet Georges Le Soq inspires Rith as he creates some of his cool pottery.   And my alter ego Beaker walks  me through my goofy, teeming brain to make sense of it all.

In regards to Beaker, it turns out I’m pretty trendy. There’s a bit of a fad going on nowadays among teens and college age people to emulate Beaker. They speak like him at inappropriate times  –meep! meep! meep! — just as a goof.

The folks at the Muppet Show know that, so almost every time they post a new Muppet skit on YouTube, they include Beaker front and center.

He’s my hero.

I’ve posted here his latest video, which by all appearances  is his critically panned rendition of “Dust in the Wind.”

I also posted my favorite, the ulitmate Beaker performance: “Ode to Joy”

You know what? Beaker’s efforts indeed often end in hilarious mayhem, but he brushes himself off and keeps going and keeps smiling, just like me.

7 Responses to “Beaker and Me”

  1. Jeff Says:

    I think it’s good to have heroes and even better to have the ones that listen carefully without over reacting. The ones that no matter what are there. Beaker rocks and it looks like he has good company…….

  2. Denis Says:

    gee, i don’t have a beaker nor a georges in my life. i’m such a loser.

  3. mattalltrades Says:

    Denis, “loser” is the last thing that comes to mind when I or anybody else thinks about you.
    Maybe you don’t have a Beaker because you have more inner strength than me?

  4. Kim Says:

    “Kids are naturally curious, and their minds go off in weird and creative tangents. They also often have imaginary friends, and that helps them sort through their thoughts. It’s worth hanging on to that way of thinking, even if you are a responsible adult, because it makes you better at solving problems, or at least lets you have more fun while not solving them.”

    Words matter.

    Sarah Palin is naturally curious and her mind goes off in weird and creative tangents. She also often has imaginary friends and that helps her sort through her thoughts. It’s worth hanging on to that way of thinking, even as a responsible adult, b/c it makes her better at solving problems, or at least lets her have more fun while not solving them.

  5. mattalltrades Says:

    Kim: LOL, that’s great!
    The only thing I might disagree with is, I don’t think Palin is all that naturally curious. She makes up her mind and runs with it, facts be damned.
    But I’m glad you raised an exceptionally important point that I left out: Childlike curiosity definitely helps and is fun, but we still often have to evaluate situations and ideas with adult maturity and intelligence.

  6. Kim Says:

    I’ve had my Huffpo SP fix for the day and I’m fully loaded!!!

  7. gary rith Says:

    HA! My brain is cotton candy, Georges is amillion times smarter than me 🙂

Leave a Reply

