Hang up and Drive

Am I one of the only ones who is astounded they actually have to pass laws banning texting and driving?  Am I the only one who thinks it’s obvious that squinting at a tiny little screen in your hands while stabbing it with your fingers and thumbs takes your eyes off the road? 

According to a recent article in USA Today, most states either have banned texting and driving or are considering it.  The Vermont Legislature  is considering the texting ban, and I obviously like the proposal. Vermont State Police said there were 42 texting-related vehicle crashes last year, including three fatalities. Puts new meaning into saying “I’d kill to have a conversation with that guy.”

 I’m confused. Has anyone out there talked to people who text and drive, hopefully not via IM.

I’m curious, why do they do it? Why don’t they pull over? Do they really think they can drive like that? Or do they simply don’t give a crap if they run over somebody while texting?  Hey my email is more important than some slob walking on the sidewalk, right?

I’m being holier-than-thou when I say this, but I don’t talk on the cell phone and drive, either, since studies show it’s as dangerous as driving drunk. Maybe I have a self-esteem problem or something, but I d0n’t think I’m so important that I must answer the phone no matter what I’m doing.

Related issue: Don’t even get me started on people I encounter doing their business in the men’s room while having a spirited cell phone conversation. FLUSH!!!!

Feel free to weigh in on this one, folks

5 Responses to “Hang up and Drive”

  1. Kim Says:

    I heard this morning on NPR that,
    “NPR’s Brian Naylor adds that DOT estimates a driver traveling at 55 mph takes his eyes off the road for at least five seconds — and that the vehicle goes the length of a football field — when sending and receiving texts”….he added too that the length also included the end zones.

    Somehow that’s not a reassuring thought when I’m driving on a highway at night.

  2. mattalltrades Says:

    I didn’t realize you could travel that far in five seconds, but now that I think about it, it makes sense.
    Thanks for the perpective, Kim. It helps!

  3. Lynn Says:

    LOL! “Puts new meaning into saying ‘I’d kill to have a conversation with that guy.’”
    Great post! I totally agree. It’s like some people have OCD with their phones. It’s an obsession, addiciton … seriously impared judgement when it comes to these gadgets that have become a physical part of their being. It’s sad really.

  4. Jeff Says:

    the problem is human nature. Everyone can multitask and once you do it you think you can handle more and more. Problem is, most people don’t realize that once you divide your attention between even two separate tasks, you can’t do either one very well. The more tasks you take on, the less brain power attached to that task. You make an excellent point. Can’t PEOPLE figure it out?

  5. Denis Says:

    i agree there should be a law banning texting while driving.

Leave a Reply

